Language Lens

A blog about life, discovery and culture through the lens of language and linguistics.

Journey of Discovery

I’ve always loved learning and always loved discovering new things.  Although learning from blogs or starting a blog didn’t grab me for many years.  But that was then and this is now.  I’m starting this blog as a way to continue my discovery of language and linguistics—two things that surround all of us everyday, and something that I believe strikes an interest in all of us to some degree.

My name is Meg, and I’m an everyday girl really, a student for life (in and out of the classroom.)  From Denver, Colorado, I recently finished my master’s in Spanish linguistics and am currently living in Buenos Aires, Argentina.  I have the privilege of living in a new culture and learning about a language that isn’t my own everyday, but curiously what has happened during my time in Argentina (which will be two years this year), is that I have learned more about my own language and my own culture.  When you teach your own language (and answer crazy questions regularly that you’ve never thought about) and when you get some distance from the land you always knew, undoubtedly you gain a different perspective.

So since this is my first post—the inauguration of my blog, if you will—I thought I’d give some history and explain where my inspiration comes from.

  •  To have another language is to possess a second soul. ~ Charlemagne

I still remember the day I chose to study Spanish at my freshman high school orientation, more than 15 years ago.  I didn’t know anything about the language and had no idea what an influence it would have on my life, but I remember the confidence I had to choose my own way instead of following what most of my friends were doing at the time, studying German.  You see like in most high schools in the United States, few languages were offered, and Chinese certainly wasn’t an option or a consideration.  Spanish seemed like a practical choice, but from the start it was so much more than that.

So high school came and went, as did ar, er and ir verbs.  I endured and enjoyed college only to travel as much as I could afterwards.  I lived in Chile for a short time and experienced first-hand just how different Spanish is around the world.  I continued to take lessons, buy books and explore this passion I had but didn’t know what to do with—the Spanish language.  Eventually it took me to studying linguistics at a master’s level from the University of Colorado Denver and then to Argentina to finish coursework at the University of Buenos Aires; and Buenos Aires, where the humidity can kill, is where I find myself today.

You see I have evolved in this process, like how language evolves, and I’ve discovered along the way language and linguistic insights that continue to amaze me, but more so, I’ve discovered and continue to discover new parts of myself.  I believe the discovery of anything that we find a passion will only bring us closer to ourselves, or perhaps it is that ‘second soul’ that Charlemagne referenced.

The one thing we all have in common is language, no matter the color of our skin or country of origin.  I know this blog will develop with time, and hopefully gain some readers in the meantime!  Until then, my aim is to share about the wonder of language that surrounds us everyday, everywhere, and to continually write about my journey of discovery, both personally and linguistically.

http://pinterest.com/pin/250653535482104174/

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Journey of Discovery

  1. Pingback: The Real Voyage of Discovery | Language Lens

Leave a Reply

