Language Lens

A blog about life, discovery and culture through the lens of language and linguistics.

Love: A Universal Language

I write to you the morning after my brother’s wedding, my one and only brother Ian, who means the world to me.  A few years ago now when I left for Argentina, I told him, “You are going to meet someone, I just know it.”  Little did I know it would be such a beautiful and wonderful woman – Celia.  The two met, and right away they knew there was something special brewing.  In American culture, or better-yet the dating culture, we talk about the compulsory “3-days” after meeting to call back.  As the ‘preacher’ (aka good friend Derek) put it, Ian waited about “3 minutes.” 🙂

This is where everyone in the movie says, “Awwww.”

One of many attempts to define love was the book The Five Love Languages, which I have heard of but admittedly have not read.  According to Dr. Gary Chapman, the five love languages are Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service and Physical Touch.  The book states that we all have a primary love language in which we best feel loved.  I imagine the author also talks about our individual language as well in how we express and give love.

Now call this post cheesy, but I’m in that mood.  People have different ways of showing their love based on culture, upbringing, personality, creativity or generosity, to name a few.  I think sometimes we don’t recognize love if it’s not the way we would express it, or perhaps Dr. Chapman has a point in the fact that we don’t recognize it because it’s not the way we need to be loved.

Whatever the answer is, one solution is to learn enough about the person and people you love to love them the way they best feel loved.  (Forgive the overuse of the word ‘love.’ in that sentence but I had my reasons.)  Loving the other in the way they need to be loved is selfless, which some call love in itself, and by doing this we also learn new ways of expressing love.  In a world filled with differences, this is what allows love to be a universal language, because we’d all agree that it’s easy to love those that are the same as us.

http://pinterest.com/pin/250653535482103786/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

